Transforming lives in the
community since 1890
Invest in us



Time to Apply for the 2017-18 school year!


2017-2018 Sisterhood School Year APPLICATION FORM

Program Dates: September 13, 2017 – May 18, 2018
Mandatory Program Orientation: Wednesday, September 13 at 6:00 p.m.
Program Days & Times: Tuesdays – Thursdays from 3 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. AND Fridays from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.

This program has been made possible with funding from Eva L. and Joseph M. Bruening Foundation, MyCom, United Methodist Women National, United Way of Greater Cleveland and the Thomas H. White Foundation.

Contact WSCH Youth Services Director, Allison “Ms. Ali” McClain, at (216) 771-7297, ext. 315 to enroll.

Youth - West Side Sisterhood 2

What is Sisterhood?

Sisterhood is an after-school and summer arts program (Summer of Sisterhood) that prepares girls ages 10 - 18 for womanhood and their life beyond.  Throughout the school year, arts and creativity are interwoven into the cycles (see list below). 

During eight weeks of the summer, Summer of Sisterhood continues its drive to help girls reach their fullest potential as we focus on a specific arts project designed to teach the girls how creative expression can transform a community and positively impact public perception.

Sisterhood fosters a belief in girls’ self-worth based on their skills, unique talents, and spirituality rather than on appearance, popularity, sexuality or negative gender and racial stereotypes.

Sisterhood encourages and challenges young women to be strong and independent, to exercise self-discipline, to respect themselves and one another, to value education, and to know when and how to give help and receive it.

Youth - West Side Sisterhood 3

How do we do it?

Girls participate in a range of cultural, educational and social programs throughout the school year. These programs aim to provide girls with the skills they need to maintain high self-esteem and reach future success.

Sisterhood Cycles

Cycle 1 - Social Skills & Self-Esteem
Cycle 2 - Social Justice

Cycle 3 - SMART (Science, Math, Arts & Technology)
Cycle 4 - Financial Literacy
Cycle 5 - Health & Wellness